Pride and Shame

I am not proud of how I used to live, but I am not ashamed of it either. There is no one who can judge me any harsher than I have already judged myself.

I am who I am presently, as a direct result of the tragedies and triumphs that I have survived. I have made horrible choices, harming myself, those I love as well as unsuspecting innocent bystanders. I have done my best to heal those wounds and restore balance where I have lived in unacceptable extremes.

I am not afraid to let you see all of me, exactly who I am. I am not the greatest. I am not the worst. I am exactly as I was created to be at this moment.

I may be kind and loving, inspirational and positive. But I am also selfish, dishonest, resentful and afraid. I am more like you than I am different.

Today, I am responsible, accountable and I have more integrity than I have ever had in my life. My feet match my words and I own my choices…even the bad ones.

I am a man, a father, a son, a brother, an uncle, a friend and a human being. I have purpose and direction.

I am neither proud or ashamed. I just am.

~ S.D.

Leave a Reply

