I am…

I am a person who…

I am a person who was selfish
-I thought I knew best
-I wanted what I wanted
-I cared only about myself

I am a person who was resentful
-I blamed others
-I held on to anger
-I justified my actions with excuses

I am a person who was dishonest
-I twisted reality to suit my wants
-I was incapable of telling the truth
-I didn’t want you to know that I didn’t know

I am a person who was fearful
-I hid my fear
-I fought or ran away
-I was scared of more than I was willing to admit

***************************

I am a person who is selfless
-I give freely
-I don’t live with entitlement
-I am equal and the same as you are

I am a person who is forgiving
-I practice love and tolerance
-I don’t hold on to the past
-I treat others as I would want to be treated

I am a person who is honest
-I balance my words with compassion
-I share, open and forthcoming, without lying
-I differentiate between my feelings and the truth

I am a person who is courageous
-I have healthy fears
-I know my faith is stronger than my insecurities
-I live free from that which I cannot control 

I am a person who is not who I once was

~S.D.

Leave a Reply

