Who I am

Who am I?

I wasted gifts and talents.
I traded dreams, plans and potential for what I thought I wanted.
I lived a lie where I was unable to differentiate the true from the false.
I gave up the right to a life dictated by what I want.

I forgot who I was for a second.

Thank You for helping me to remember happiness looks like something different for people like me.
Thank You for helping me to remember the future is not mine.
Thank You for helping me to remember that this is my happily ever after.

But most of all,
Thank You for helping to forget…even for just a few brief moments.

I remember now.

Grateful for another chance at life,
On Your terms,
In Your time,
According to Your plan.

~S.D.

4 thoughts on “Who I am

  1. Thank you for writing this. I forgot who I was too and that happiness looks like something different for people like me. Just trying to say, I relate. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

