You can always tell an alcoholic, you just can’t tell them much

They TOLD me remember how bad it was.
But my memory always seemed to fail me.
They TOLD me not to drink between the meetings.
But somehow I continued to get drunk.
They TOLD me not to do ‘nothing, no matter what.’
But I kept getting loaded.
They TOLD me meeting makers make it.
But I was dying in my seat…

Then, one person took me aside and said he had a solution…

1. He explained to me about my illness and let me admit I was sick just like him.

2. He showed me there was hope and that I could have it too.

3. He presented me with a decision and a commitment to live an incredible life, different than I the one I had known.

4. He encouraged me to honestly look at how I had been living, examining the causes and conditions of my predicament.

5. He listened to my truth and cared for me more than my feelings, looking at patterns of my behavior.

6. He taught me how to be willing to become more and embrace change in myself.

7. He prepared me to be humble, in acceptance and ready for whatever would be.

8. He waited for me to reflect on my past and take ownership of my wrongs.

9. He held my hand while I started to restore broken relationships and balanced the scales I had thrown off through my actions.

10. He watched me learn to be  accountable and grow more responsible each day.

11. He suggested I continously nurture myself, others and the Universe; asking for help and direction; pausing; and developing daily vision.

12. And finally, he TOLD me the only way I could be free -to truly laugh, live and love- was to have purpose, to help another the same way he helped me…

He walked with me, side-by-side, through the steps…and the ONLY thing he ever “told” me was to be of service.

I don’t ever have to ‘keep coming back…’
Today, I will stay.

~S.D.

Leave a Reply

