Instant but rarely gratifying

For years I lived off the instant gratification of a drink or a drug…or so I thought.
It was instant, but rarely truly gratifying.
It was more like a fleeting escape from that which I refused to face.
My solution was a symbol… a symptom, of a deeper problem.
I placed bandaid on top of bandaid, while the infection under my skin spread out of control.
Slowly, my external appearance began to match my deteriorating interior.
I could not wish or will away what I had become.
I was broken… but not unfixable.
Desperate enough to surrender, I gave myself over to something greater and life began to change.
There is no shortcut to happiness.
Satisfaction has never been instantaneous… I needed a new definition of what it meant to be satisfied.
Now, gratification becomes a process that comes from practicing spiritual principles, doing the next right thing and having a solid program of action.

This is the course, a new direction, A New Way of Life.

~S.D.

Leave a Reply

