What to wear?

Freshly showered, I look in the closet and through drawers in a search for the outfit which best suits me for this day.

I have given away most of the things that no longer fit. 

I am left with only 2 choices.

I glance at the floor.

Crumpled and dirty, I see the outfit I used to wear. 

It looks comfortable…familiar.

It’s tattered and well worn. 

It smells like sweat and the struggles of yesterdays gone by.

It’s not attractive and it’s no longer practical for the job I have. 

My stare shifts, focused on a brand new suit that was given to me, hanging…pressed and clean. 

I have tried it on before but have always felt self-conscious.

People have told me how nicely it fits and how it looks specially designed just for me. 

I am intimidated by the bright colors and all of the attention it attracts. I try it on, despite my reservations. 

It will take some getting used to but I like the way it looks on me. 

I am ready to wear this new set of clothes.

I leave my house. 

I walk with balance, intent and purpose.

This is a new direction for me and I embrace it with a willingness, honesty and open-mindedness like I have never known before. 

I arrive where I am supposed to be…early and ready to work.

Today, I am suiting up and showing up for this New Way of Life…
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

