8 years ago…

​8 years ago I spent my 40th birthday in an abandoned home with 4 other addicts, trying to pretend we had some semblance of normalcy.  I never felt more alone, desparate and hopeless. 
It took me almost two more months before I was so mangled that I surrendered that way of life for something else. 
I have never turned back to my old way of living. I have spent every year since trying to embrace each day as it comes and be thankful for all I get to experience in life.
The of the addicts I shared that house with 8 years ago, 2 are dead, 1 is in prison and 1 has disappeared. I am 1 of 5 who was able to find a different path.
Things are not always what I like them to be but I am no longer alone, desperate or hopeless. I have recovered.
This is the easier, softer way.
~ S.D. 

Leave a Reply

