Common Senses

Before addiction

I was one with my children

I could HEAR their dreams 

Helping fulfill their goals
Before I drank

I was their hero

I could SEE them grow

Molding and shaping them
Before addiction

I was one with my children

I could TASTE the future

Building a legacy for them each day
Before I got high

I was clear and present

I could SMELL their successes 

Inhaling every triumph they achieved
Before addiction

I was one with my children

I could TOUCH their souls

Healing and growing along side them
Sharpen my senses

Make me one with my children
~S.D. 

Leave a Reply

