20 years of fatherhood


Son,
10/10/96 doesn’t just mark the day you were born, it also the same day I first became a father. I got to be a part of ushering a new soul into this world, with a strong and patient woman who did all of the hardest work. I helped make a child, and in return, that child helped make me a man. Two decades later I am in awe of the person you are and as proud as any parent could be.
It would be disingenuous to say that I was always the best father ever, but I was always the best father I could be. I have struggled and I have stumbled, but I have spent every day growing towards the ideal of being a selfless parent and a living example the best human being that I can be, despite myself.
I have always told you, that we create our own good luck. Luck is simply the sweet spot where preparation meets opportunity. What you have shown me is the determination to prepare yourself for whatever life puts in front of you. 
On the track you fly over hurdles with ease, and on the gridiron you zoom past anything that tries to slow your momentum. Any success you enjoy is a direct result of the work you put in. You cannot fail because in the process you have already won. 
If there is anything I wish for you, it is to never lose that incredible determination to make your dreams a reality. You remind everyone who sees you that it is possible to live a dream, not just imagine them. 
Take your unbelievable speed and temper it with patience and love. Walk through each moment and experience it. Greet each day with gratitude, knowing you are a good man doing great things. 
I love you, son.
Dad

Leave a Reply

