The Last Day- Enough 

​Today was my last drink and my last drug. 

I found myself at the end of a 26 year long run…running away from my feelings…my fears…my self.

I found myself with nowhere to go. Exhausted. Depressed. Hopeless. 

I didn’t know how to stop, but I knew I could not go on. 
I owe my last trip to the treatment center to my mother, a woman, who I pushed to her absolute limits. 

I owe my last trip to the treatment center to my kids, my ex – wife and the rest of my extended family, who finally accepted there was nothing they could do for me. 

I owe my last trip to the treatment center to the employers and landlords who finally had had enough of my excuses. 

I owe my last trip to the treatment center to the recovered alcoholic/addict who told me that life could be different.

 

8 years ago today, I surrendered to drugs and alcohol. I had been living my powerlessness since my first drunk…and now, finally, I was able to fully accept the truth of the unmanageability of my own life. 
Today, I surrender to the Uni-verse. When I am powerless, I can be Power-filled. I ask a Higher Power to manage that which I cannot. I do the work and the results are handled for me.  

I no longer have to fight drugs or alcohol. 

When I stay connected to you, me and a Power greater than myself, I have a sane reaction to the insanity of alcoholism. 

I have found the treatment… the solution …the program …that, as long as I continue to do it, really works. 
Life is different. 

I have changed. 

I have hope. 
Thank you for one more day,
~S.D. 

Leave a Reply

