Learning To Crawl

I awaken. 

A stranger in a strange new world,

Groggy and unsure.

Dazed,

My eyes adjust and focus.

Surreal and vibrant.

My senses are bombarded by so much stimuli.

This barely resembles anything I can recall.

Reality transformed.

I look for the familiar but nothing is the same.

Curious and childlike, 

I am not sure how to react 

I feel aware but unskilled and ignorant.

Awkward and clumsy,

I try to find my legs.

Looking for something I can trust,

I follow the people whose words match their feet.

This what it feels like to be alive and unanesthetized.

Slowly, 

I adapt to the new normal.
~ S.D. 

Leave a Reply

