Restitution 

3/7/17

Pops,
I miss you.

I follow the trail of dimes you leave for me, but it’s not the same as sitting next to you. I am writing an amends and it just happens to be your birthday. You would be 88 today. 

It’s been 8 years since I first wrote to you. You have seen me stay sober, despite life and self, the entire time. I know you are proud.
Although we communicate across the unknown, similar to the unspoken way we did when you were alive, I am told that an honest letter is the best way to reach someone who cannot be seen. Much has changed since I found you passed away, alone in your tiny apartment. I have grown and I have healed. I need to check in and make sure that I remain true to the living amends I made to you.
I was resentful.

I was dishonest.

I was selfish.

I was afraid.
I blamed you for my problems and my illness. I was upset our family didn’t look like other peoples’. I wanted more of your time and attention. I was mad at you for giving up and dying.
The truth looks different.
I made my own choices and I was sick. I didn’t appreciate what I had. I was rarely present. You were in pain and did your best with what you had. 
Today, I am developing into the person you always wanted me to be. I have taken the virtues you gave me and recognized others inside of myself. I practice these ideals daily.
I am resentful, but I respond instead of reacting.

I am dishonest, but I tell on myself and find the truth.

I am selfish, but I put the needs of others before my own.

I am afraid, but I walk with courage and faith.
I continue to move toward being a better person. I do my best each day. That is all you ever asked of me and that is what I will keep doing. 
I wish your grandchildren could see the man I love and admire. I am resolved to be the best example of that man. I have become a man you would be proud to call your son.
With love,
Sean

Leave a Reply

