Accountability 

Today, I meditate and reflect on what accountability means to me. In the context of a new design for living, I believe to be accountable means I am obligated to own and answer for my actions.
In the past, I was always accountable to my desire. I took what I thought I deserved without regard for consequence or concern for others. Living life in that manner has become incompatible with the life I seek today. 
I must be accountable to something more than myself. Accountability has become a responsibility for me to live in balance with the rest of the Universe. This responsibility is two-fold. 
It is corrective. When I react to a person, place, thing, situation or circumstance, I take ownership of my response. If I do harm, I do my best to repair it. I use my fellows to help me gauge where I have fallen short. I look at what needs to change in me in order for me to exist in peace with you, them, myself and the larger Universe. I am human, wonderfully flawed, and I will fail. This corrective measure had proven to be a sound means for mitigating the damage I do. When practiced daily, it allows me have a relatively clean slate to build on each day.
Accountability also has another component, I see as vigilance. This is continuous, pre-emptive mindfulness keeps me from creating wreckage. Too often, my focus is on damage control instead of prevention. When I operate without a filter, I am careless and cause unintended harm. If I can walk with guided grace, instead of moving through life with no concern for anyone but myself, I can preserve healthy, harmonious relationships. Constant self-awareness and self-appraisal keep me from creating problems in the first place. 
I must be both, vigilant and corrective in all my interactions throughout the day. 
Show me how to do no harm.

Help me repair the harms I have done.
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

