9th Step Promises With A Twist

My sponsor shared. It wasn’t the 1st time I’d heard him read the 9th Step Promises from page 93 in the Big Book, but this time he read it with a new twist-

He embellished a bit:
“WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I knew a new freedom and a new happiness.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I did not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I comprehended the word serenity and knew peace.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I saw how my experience could benefit others.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I had the feeling of uselessness and self-pity disappear.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I lost interest in selfish things and gained interest in my fellows.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I felt self-seeking slip away.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I had my whole attitude and outlook upon life change.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

 …I felt fear of people and of economic insecurity leave me.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I intuitively knew how to handle situations which used to baffle me.

WHEN I WAS DRINKING

…I realized that ALCOHOL did for me what I could not do for myself.”
He reminded me that these were extravagant promises for an alcoholic who was still drinking; for alcoholism is permanent, progressive and fatal. I know that the most common treatment for alcoholism is drinking alcohol. The relief found from a drink is elsuive, temporary and fleeting. My issue was that alcohol stopped working. I could not sustain the way I had to drink and survive it. My problem was never alcohol. The Book tells me that bottles are but a symptom. 
My problem was alcohol-ISM,  a spiritual malady defined by my restlessness, irritability and discontentedness with my own existence. 
I have learned that my internal condition can never be healed with an external substance. I learned that people like me (sober or not), only have 2 options: “go on to the bitter end, blotting out the consciousness of our intolerable situation as best we could; and the other, to accept spiritual help.” (Pg.25).
I choose the easier, softer way.
~ S.D. 

Leave a Reply

