Night 

When I retire at night…
After the distractions of the day have subsided, I reflect on what was. I try to write something, even if it feels forced or contrived. Even if I am tired and don’t want to. Reflection helps me feel grounded and connected. 
I review how I participated in the day.  I ponder key questions including:

-Was I resentful, selfish, dishonest or afraid?

-Do I owe an apology or amends?

-Was I forthcoming?

-Was I kind and loving?

-Was I patient and understanding?

-How can I be a better example of what I want to see in the world?

-Was I able to be of service?

-Did I contribute to the greater good or did I take from it?
I try to show others forgiveness and embrace acceptance. 

I recommit to grow closer to the person I strive to be. 

I thank the Sun, the Moon and Stars that I have a place among them.

I remember to be grateful for all of the blessings I get to experience. 
I turn off the lights and close my eyes, safe and protected. 
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

