Tradition 8 – Giving 

8. Tradition of Giving 
The solution to my old way of living was given to me freely. It is now my duty to share that same solution with anyone who seeks it. We do the next right thing without compensation or reward. We share hope. 
A spiritual economy shows us that the material realm and the spiritual realm should remain separate; and from that tradition comes the tradition of Giving. We are reminded that we give, not so we can get, but simply because that is how we live. We don’t sell a New Design for living, this way of life sells itself. The only thing it costs is willingness and action. 
I strive to keep my profession and my service separate. Service is not something I get paid for. Service is above and beyond. Service is inconvenient. Service gets in the way of my selfish nature. Service uses up the resource I value the most, time. Yet, it is through giving the things I want and the things I think I need, that I am released from the bondage of self. I grow  closer to the world of the Spirit. 
The cure for selfishness is selflessness. 

The cure for my problem is your problem.

Help me to help myself. 
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

