The Theif 

I was selfish, resentful, dishonest and afraid.

I ran from my feelings and tried to escape my thoughts.

I didn’t know how to live.

I withheld my love and attention.

I wasn’t present when I should have been.

I robbed you of the only thing of real importance in this world.

I took minutes, hours, days, months and even years from you.

I stole the moment.

I know my actions hurt you.

I regret how I used to live and I ask for your forgiveness.

I have adopted a new way of living.

I want to balance the scales I have thrown off with my behavior.

I know this will take a lifetime.

I am prepared to pay this debt in full.
Today, I am the best son, the best father, the best brother, the best partner, the best friend and the best human being that I can be.

I will only become better.

Please allow me the opportunity to grow and heal this relationship as we move forward from this moment on.

I offer you all of me.

I pay forward the greatest gift I have ever received and the one thing in this Universe that I value the most…

I give back to you what I stole…
Time.
~ S.D.

Leave a Reply

