Broken Vessel 

I was of use, but I wasn’t what I was meant to be

Then, I was carelessly tossed from a cliff

Irresponsibly discarded, forgotten

Broken, I lay in the sand

My jagged edges are a threat to anyone who comes close to me

This is not my purpose

This is not what I was supposed to be

But, I am unable to change on my own

I remain willing to become something else, but I am at the mercy of the elements

I feel weathered and worn

Patience is my only comfort

Slowly, the sands of time start polish me, smoothing my edges

Transforming me into something no one else could have imagined

I am common and ordinary, but distinct and unique at the same time

Odd, one of a kind

Soon, someone will discover what I truly am and I will become a treasured find

Important, repurposed with new meaning

I exist to be cherished, appreciated and loved
What am I?
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

