Step 1- Smoking

1. I am powerless over cigarettes and my smoking is unmanagable.
I am addicted to smoking. I have lost any personal control over my consumption of cigarettes. I cannot stop using my own willpower. My self-knowledge and understanding of how bad smoking is for my health has not been a sufficient deterrent for me to be able to quit. 

I fully concede to my innermost self that I am addicted to nicotine. It is permanent, progressive and fatal. 

I have a physical craving. When I start smoking I am unable to control my desire for more. 

I have a mental obsession. Even when I am not smoking, I think about smoking. 

The idea that I can control any aspect of my smoking must be smashed. 

I cannot quit under my own power. I need help. 

I am suffering from an illness which only a spiritual experience will conquer. Lack of power is my dilemma.

I need a forced separation from the drug to escape the physical craving. 

I need a Power greater than myself to relieve me of my mental obsession. 
~S.D.

One thought on “Step 1- Smoking

Leave a Reply

