Listening With Heart

I didn’t listen

When he said he felt ugly, all I could see was how handsome he was
I didn’t listen

When he said he felt alone, all I could see was the people standing around him
I didn’t listen

When he said he felt sad, all I could see was how he made me laugh
I didn’t listen

When he said he felt afraid, all I could see was how brave he was
I finally heard what he was trying to tell me, but I was too late

He is gone now.
If only I had listened

What I see on the outside doesn’t necessarily match what someone is feeling on the inside
I will try to close my eyes and listen with the heart
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

