Wasted Wish

Three hopeless, desperate friends sat together comiserating. Each had lost the things most dear to them. Each felt as they didn’t want to go on. Yet none of them truly wanted to die. Filled with terror, bewilderment, frustration and despair, they had no solution. So they sat in limbo at the crossroads. 
One of them produced a bottle in an attempt to help them drown their sorrows. As the lid was removed a plume of smoke erupted from the bottle and a genie appeared. 
“Thank you for freeing me from my imprisonment,” the genie exclaimed. “In return for my freedom I will grant you each one wish.”
The first of the three didn’t have to think. “I wish I was free from my alcoholism, I want my family back.”
“Your wish is my command,” the genie snapped his fingers and magically the first person disappeared. 
The second of the three didn’t have to think either. “I wish I was free from my addiction, I want my job and house back.”
“Your wish is my command,” the genie snapped his fingers and magically the second person disappeared. 
The third of three looked sad. Number three sat and thought for a few long moments then said, “I miss my friends, I wish they were back here with me.”
“Your wish is my command,” the genie snapped his fingers and magically the first and second people reappeared.
*Not everyone wants to be well and misery loves company.
~S.D.

Leave a Reply

